Categories & Judges

Judges will be looking for pioneers and innovative thinking in the main sectors below:
The judges will be looking for evidence of their efforts which should have brought transformation and significant growth to the business and/or their respective sector including examples of brave initiatives and calculated risk-taking with proven ROI.


This category is open to entrants within the design arts who have challenged perceptions and conventional way of thinking. Candidates need to be creative pioneers across any aspects of design and judges will be looking for innovative, creative, engaging and forward thinking individuals, demonstrating an in-depth understanding of their craft through their work.
This category is open but not limited to: architects, brilliant illustrators, interior designers, graphic designers, UX designers, product designers, industrial designers.


Business and Entrepreneurship

Game changers who made businesses a success against specific key performance indicators. Candidates are expected to demonstrate how their vision and innovative thinking benefited their respective industry and disrupted existing norms or had an impact in society.



Professionals spanning both traditional financial services and financial technology. Nominees are expected to have demonstrated an impact on the industry, including financial solutions, product innovation and fintech startups.



The category is open to fashion professionals who are devoted to the industry of making and/or selling clothes, jewelry and accessories. It encompasses the design, manufacturing, distribution, marketing, retailing, advertising, and promotion of all types of apparel.


This category seeks to reward individuals whose work within the service and tourism industry (including lodging, hotel management, event planning, transportation, cruise lines etc.) has demonstrated exceptional customer-centric approach, serving both the client and the organisation to the highest standard.


Science and Technology

We are looking for exceptional scientists and engineers from STEM disciplines, including mathematics, natural sciences, engineering and technology, computer science and medical sciences.


Professionals who can demonstrate outstanding contributions to the shipping sector. Nominees of various responsibilities within the industry, from ownership or management of ships to consulting, trading, brokerage and insurance, are welcome in this category.


Social Responsibility

Judges are looking for exceptional individuals who act for the benefit of society through their efforts. This includes balancing commercial activities with activities that benefit the society, promoting behaviours and actions that champion diversity and inclusion, the wellbeing of society and the environment and focus on improving the livelihood of all living organisms. This can take the form of charity organization, fundraisers and evidenced volunteering, social entrepreneurship, profit or not-for-profit activities, among others.

Social Science

This award recognises the individual that champions excellence and forward-thinking in their field within the social sciences, including but not limited to: anthropology, business and management; economics; human geography; law; media studies; political science and international relations; psychology; social policy and sociology.


This category is aimed at seeking out the best female talent in sports. Entries are open to individuals women, who produce, facilitate, promote, and organize sports-related activities, experiences and business enterprises. Such fields include among others, the athletes and sportswomen themselves but also, sports managers, producers of athletics gears, and organizers of tournaments.


Arts and Culture

We’re looking for an individual with a vision that has made a significant impact in arts and culture, Including performing arts, visual arts, fine arts, music, literature and poetry.

Young Star Award

This category celebrates emerging and outstanding talent at the beginning of their career who has demonstrated unique potential in their respective field.


Life Time Achievement

This category is not open for entries. The award will be presented during the GIWA 2020 award show honouring a distinguished woman with international influence and experience. This award will not follow the official procedure foreseen in terms and conditions.